Carol – The Price of Salt

It’s January 2016, and ‘Carol’ has yet to hit the cinemas in little Malta. Through an email correspondence with one of the major cinemas on the island I found out that this particular cinema will not be showing the film. So out of desperation and a sheer need to see if the film will live up to the hype, I downloaded it. As one does.

I have an interesting story related to The Price of Salt. Back when I was a wee child, just starting to understand my own sexuality, all I wanted to was to read queer novels. I happened to come across The Price of Salt, however I could never find more than the first chapter. I was so in love with this chapter that I continued to search for the rest of the book, before finally giving up and forgetting all about it.

Imagine my surprise when a found out that the movie ‘Carol’ was adapted from that same book! tumblr_static_23zwi8r5jt40gw0ggkookoc80

So I waited patiently for the film to be released in Malta, and in the meantime I got my hands on the book (A review will be published later). But I will say from now, I was not disappointed.

 

So to the film review shall we?

 

I cannot express my love for this movie, it’s simply impossible. But I’ll try explain why I love it so much.

 

So the titular character is Carol – portrayed by the amazing Cate Blanchett – a housewife and mother, who is going through divorce proceedings. Carol goes to a toy store in the hopes of buying her daughter a doll for Christmas, and she requests Therese’s (played by Rooney Mara) help. Therese is a salesgirl at the toy store, but her dream is to be a famous photographer.

There is an instant connection between the two, and the rest is history.

carolrooneymaracarolshandonhershouldergood
OMG I love her nails…so short.

The plot is wonderful, and although it drifts slightly on certain details from the book (as all adaptations do), it is refreshingly honest to the original writing, and any changes work beautifully.

The beautiful script is coupled with the most emotional composition I have heard in a long while, wonderfully composed by Carter Burwell who makes perfect use of the silences in the movie. In order words, the melodies speak when the characters do not.

 

I’m not a fan of Christmas movies, and I’m classifying this as one because it’s set in the Christmas period, and it does play a minor part in the film. However, this film is the exception. It’s one of those films you enjoy watching time and time again, and it will always feel as though it’s the first time.

 

Leave a Reply

